2013 Award Winners

Congratulations to the winners of the 2013 Public Administration Review awards.


Dwight Waldo Award

Presented to a person who has made outstanding contributions to research and the professional literature in public administration over at least a 25-year period.


Rosemary O’Leary

Rosemary O’Leary is Edwin O. Stene Distinguished Professor of Public Administration at the University of Kansas, following a 24-year career at the Maxwell School of Syracuse University and the School of Public and Environmental Affairs at Indiana University. She is the author or editor of 11 books and more than 100 articles and book chapters on public management. She has won 11 national research awards and nine teaching awards. Rosemary is the only person to win three National Association of Schools of Public Affairs and Administration awards, for Best Dissertation (1989), Excellence in Teaching (1996), and Distinguished Research (2004). An elected member of the National Academy of Public Administration, O’Leary was a senior Fulbright Scholar in Malaysia and the Philippines. In 2014, she is Ian Axford Public Policy Scholar in New Zealand, where she continues to bring new insights and professional contributions to public administration.


William E. Mosher and Frederick C. Mosher Award

Presented to the authors of the best PAR article by an academic.


Morten Brænder and Lotte Bøgh Anderson, “Does Deployment to War Affect Public Service Motivation? A Panel Study of Soldiers Before and After Their Service in Afghanistan,” May/June 2013, pp. 466–77.


Laverne Burchfield Award

Presented to the author of the best PAR book review.


Geoffrey Propheter, “Evaluating the Public Costs of Public–Private Partnerships: The Case of Professional Sports Facilities,” May/June 2013, pp. 523–27.


Louis Brownlow Award

Presented to the authors of the best PAR article by a practitioner.


Helen Walker, Fredo Schotanus, Elmer Bakker, and Christine Harland, “Collaborative Procurement: A Relational View of Buyer–Buyer Relationships,” July/August 2013, pp. 588–98.